Yeong-eo Ma-eul

Today’s Korean Phrase: Yeong-eo Ma-eul= English Village

We finally had about a week or so of really nice sunny days, so I was able to get out and take some pictures of my surroundings. I thought now might be a nice time to take you faithful readers on a photographic journey through the campus I now call home: Gyeonggi English Village!

You’ll start your day here driving into the lovely little town of Paju

Turn up the hill and you’ll arrive at the front gates of GEV! For some reason we don’t quite understand, we have a replica of Stonehenge in the parking lot 

One of my favorite parts of campus is the front gate, and honestly one of the reasons that I decided to come work here is that it is a giant castle  

As you walk through the gates to the ticket counter you’ll see the Seal of the Village 

So, you know, we’re legit.  Next we’ll take a walk down Main street

Lots of shops for you to enjoy along Main street, like the English Book Store, EV Gift shop, and so much more!

Since you got here nice and early, you might want to stop at Tom ‘N Toms for a cup of coffee, tea, or blended Tominccino.  We edutainers spend WAY too much money here.  If you’re lucky, there might just be some edutainers waiting outside Tom ‘N Toms to play some outdoor activities with you.

Tasty Tom ‘N Toms treat in tow, you might see this lovely building down the street.  It’s the Little Theatre! 

Stop on in and help the Edutainers defeat the evil Zlor  in “Journey to Imaginationland” You might even get to dance with a robot 

The Little Theatre Shows are all done with very little set, but there is an interactive Power Point that plays on the white wall through the whole show. 

It is a lot of fun to do this 25 minute show because we get to play with the audience quite a bit.  On your way out you’ll see little signs telling you where all the Edutainer’s imaginations take them. Mine is a little shout out to Arizona!

Heading back out to Main street you’ll come across a few gems, like the lovely Secret Garden 

After some moments of reflection, you might want to check out some of the classes the One Day Program teachers have to offer.  They will bring you to real life situations like Post Office and Bank Visits to teach you how to converse in English

You can find these classrooms in the Exhibition Hall

Also in the Exhibition Hall you’ll find the Library.  This is where the Edutainers host a 45 minute game show! I’m designing the show for next season based on Science and Technology, but this season the game show is all about fairy tales.  Perhaps you’d like to play the game with this cute little Edutainer? 

Head back out to Main street and at the end of the road you’ll see this beautiful building

This is where I come to clock in every morning.  Right next door to here is the Cafeteria, so this area of GEV always smells like Ramen. 

Here you’ll also see a poster for the all the Edutainer’s shows, including Main Stage Musical, Jack and the Beanstalk! 

Jack and the Beanstalk is playing here, in the Concert Hall 

Now, when I first got to GEV we hadn’t started J&B yet, I jumped right into The Princess and the Crown (after only three days rehearsal, yikes!)

After three weeks of being this Girl in Green (my character was the “brave” part of the Princess on her journey) I now play the uptight narrator trying to tell the story of Jack and the Beanstalk while dealing with my obnoxious Narrator in Training 

Here are some more production photos for you to enjoy.  When you see the shots with all the fairy tale characters, I play the Hare from Tortoise and the Hare so I’m in the white track suit.

Jack Romano and his family in their pizza shop

Jack gets the beans from Old Man Herbert

Jack meets all the other Fairy Tale characters in Cloudy Town

“Gimmie a C, you got that C, you got that C.
Gimmie an L-O-U-D and get loud! Gimmie a Y
“Why?”
Cuz its CLOUDY!”

You’re probably hungry after your big day at English Village, so why not stop over at the Double Decker Pub for a Sausage and Beer! 

You’ll find the pub right next to the Trolly Cars! A popular photo taking spot in GEV 

If you’d like to come up and visit me, I live here in the Jupiter staff housing building

I’d take a picture of my studio apartment, but just assume it is a tiny room with a huge mess

I live next to the EV Kids building.  We have no idea what happens in there, but outside the building is this happy sign with all the lovable EV characters! You can sing the GEV theme song, after which this blog is titled.

“Drama, drama, I like drama. Music, music, I like music. It’s great, it’s fun, it’s English Village!

It’s not the best song in the world…

Anyway, I hope you’ve enjoyed your visit here at English Village.  Enjoy the beautiful South Korean sunset over the odd South Korean stonehenge on your way out. 

Come back soon! You’ll want to tune in next week for a new installment of Engrish of the Month!

**Note: In case you were wondering, I got my stitches out today and my mouth has recovered well.  The doctor said it would take about a month for my mouth to recover fully, so i guess I still have an excuse to eat all this pudding I stocked up on…**

3 thoughts on “Yeong-eo Ma-eul

  1. David says:

    Wouldn’t the “Wild West” of Korea be…China?

  2. Alex says:

    Looks like your having a lot of fun out there. I’m jealous, your in the Starcraft capitol of the world!

  3. Lori says:

    Beautiful!!! It’s just like how I imagined summer camp would be…but wasn’t. If y’all need awesome writers, you know where to find me 😉

Leave a Reply

